Rio Rapids SC is proud to announce that 70 of its alumni (47 women and 23 men) were a part of college soccer programs throughout the country during the Fall of 2017.  Eleven of these players helped their team reach the national tournament.  Caitlin Christiansen (97’s) was the starting goalkeeper for the Hardin-Simmons University team that advanced to the NCAA Division 3 Final Four.  Dominique Rivera (97’s) was a key contributor at Colorado School of Mines helping the team advance to the NCAA Division 2 Sweet 16.

Lucy Chalgren (96’s), Calista Cordero (98/99’s), Taylor Heckroth (98/99’s and Cheyenne Orozco (98/99’s) were all a part of the West Texas A&M University team that advanced to the 2nd round of the NCAA Division 2 tournament.  Other players helping their teams advance to the 2nd round of the NCAA tournament were:  Andres Delgadillo (96’s) at Division 2 Colorado Mesa and Ryan Hunter (97’s) at Division 3 Trinity University (TX).  Rebekah Carr (98/99’s) was a part of the Embry Riddle Aeronautical University (AZ) team that advanced to the 2nd round of the NAIA National Tournament after winning the CalPac Conference title.  Other players whose teams earned bids to the NCAA tournament include:  Avery Lewis (98’s) at Division 2 Midwestern State (TX) and Andrea Seazzu (98’s) at Division 1 Air Force.  Eight players helped their teams win conference championships.

Many of these players received individual honors for their outstanding play.  Four players earned regional recognition:  Caitlin Christiansen (97’s) of Hardin-Simmons – USC NCAA Division 3 All-West 1st Team, Alexa Genas (98’s) of Campbell University – North Carolina All-State 1st Team, Theo Hooker (96 Reds) of Colorado College – USC NCAA Division 3 All-West 2nd Team and Lauren Milliet (97’s) of Colorado College – USC NCAA Division 1 All-West 2nd Team.  Ten players were selected to their all-conference teams with men named in the Ivy League, RMAC and Southern Collegiate and women named in the American Southwest, Big South, Lone Star, Mountain West, RMAC and WAC.  Theo Hooker was also named the Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference Co-Defender of the Year and Alexa Genas was named the Big South Attacking Player of the Year as the 9th leading scorer in NCAA Division 1.

A number of players also received individual honors for excellence in the classroom.  Eight players were named to All-Academic Teams by their Conference.  Natalie DuBoise (96’s) of Lipscomb (TN) was named the Atlantic Sun Conference Scholar-Athlete of the Year for the 2nd consecutive year in addition to being recognized on the All-Academic Team.  Caitlin Christiansen of Hardin-Simmons was named to the USC NCAA Division 3 Scholar-All America 2nd Team.  Other All-Academic 1st team selections include: Cassie Boren (97’s) of Texas Tech in the Big 12 Conference; Theo Hooker of Colorado College as CoSIDA All-District, Jessica Kresl (96’s) of Western State Colorado University in the Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference and Aimee Shrock (98’s) of Simpson College in the Iowa Conference.

Below are complete lists of our alumni competing in college soccer this fall and their accomplishments.  Please join us in congratulating these players!

2017 Rio Rapids Soccer Club Alumnae Women’s College Soccer Accomplishments

2017 Rio Rapids Soccer Club Alumni Men’s College Soccer Accomplishments

Rio Rapids Soccer Club offers a comprehensive and proven college search program that has helped place 410 of our alumni in college soccer programs.  Learn more about how playing for Rio Rapids can give you a tremendous edge in the college search process at:

2017 Rio Rapids Alumni Colleges Graphic